I See

I see the world and they are reveling in happiness and fleeting joy; I see the people and they are hurting badly and running madly. I see the lovers and they are chasing love like its a game you play, where nobody wins at the end of the day. I see the children and they are born into a world where anything goes but no one really knows how to live like we were meant to live.

I see the bombs and they are reducing people to numbers on a screen; where somber news is but a sensation, and dollars in their millions flow in. I see the famous and they are drugged up, divorced and divine; I see the poor and they are shut up and told they are fine, and yes we will spare you our change but only when that new car arrives. I see the hungry and they are wondering if this is how we were meant to live.

If you’re hungry, confused, or just lost; if pain is a word you’ve known, at a cost; if somehow life’s purpose doesn’t go beyond what money can give, I see a God who knows how we should live.

Hey, its been awhile (quite an understatement, I realise) since I last wrote anything here, but I have been thinking about this ever since Camp RRR and I finally felt unlazy enough to write it all down lest I forget.

I guess I have been thinking about relationships, since that was what the camp was about, but more specifically, about how God intended us to live out our relationships. I’ve learnt so much at camp that its near impossible to write it all down, but I’ve been really convicted that if we really lived out lives the way God intended us to, life would be so much better, sweeter and more fulfilling instead of the mess it is now.

“I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” John 10:10

I really see the world and it is messed up. I could’ve used another word in place of “messed” which would probably more accurately describe it, but obviously I won’t. I look all around me—the media, school, my friends, myself—and nothing quite fits into the picture of what an ideal world should look like. Poverty, murder, abortion, broken hearts, why do you still exist? A real, loving God would not let this happen. A real, loving God would surely have a solution.

What I’ve come to learn is that He did, and still does, but here’s the thing—a real, loving God would not force anyone into that solution. And so the problems begin. We are given a choice: it is made pretty obvious which one God knows is the best way, but the choice is there nonetheless. And this choice is literally between life and death; don’t kid yourself otherwise. Its not between this religion and that, its not between this god and that, its not between living a good life or not, but it is simply a choice to live.

“For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.” Romans 8:6

I really believe that if we all lived as we were meant to—for example, seeing “love” not as a feeling but a choice and commitment to choose what is best for the other person—we could save ourselves and others so much hurt and trouble. Imagine a world where divorce didn’t happen because people based their love for each other on how God first loved them; where abortion didn’t happen because people only had sex the way God intended them to, in marriage; where eradicating poverty would be a realistic aim because people didn’t live for themselves but for God.

Gandhi once said about Christianity, “I like your Christ, but I don’t like your Christians.”

And you couldn’t ask for a bigger slap in face. Because while it is up to those who don’t yet believe in God to make the choice, it is even more so up to those who have already made the choice to live as though they have. And sadly, I do believe we haven’t. Which is why my friends look at me and say, whats so different anyway? Which is why people say Christians are hypocrites. Which is why the choice to not believe in God seems so much more easy to make.

I feel incredibly sad when I think that the life I have led, or rather the life I have not led has somehow or other contributed to this. So I’m reminded that I’ve made the first choice to follow Christ, and now all the other choices I make should reflect that, or I stand the risk of not only not living life to the fullest, but not letting others do so as well.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. shifu says:

    Cheryl if you became a pastor I’d go back to church haha ;D

  2. ariebedouin says:

    hey i love hearing what you learn and hear from God :) like that time when you shared what you learned at your church camp in Sydney. hope I will have more chances to hear from you partner!

Leave a Reply

