I guess you were really kind of an a…

Tonight, after some general observations on social media, and also from spontaneous explorations into certain people’s Tumblr and Ask.fm pages, I have realised four things:

• A few months is hardly time enough to know a person. People are complex, dark, and occasionally wonderful things. It only takes something like a whole tiled page full of images and posts to make you realise that. You never really know someone.

• Jealousy can rip your heart out, can tear at your soul, can make you despise who you are. There will always, always be someone prettier, richer, wittier, funnier, fitter, cooler, better at design, more fashionable, more hipster. If you let that eat at you, in the process of wishing you were someone else, you lose yourself. And losing yourself is never a good feeling. I think realising you will never be all those things is one thing; being able to live with it is another.

• We all have a need to be known. By someone, by people, even by strangers. This insatiable need is clearly shown through social media – the constant glorification and objectification of oneself, for others’ consumption. “The world revolves around me” – on our social media pages, we can, for an instance, believe this is true. Even this blog is proof of that.

• Moral relativity is so prevalent in our culture today that I’m surprised most people don’t notice how much of a farce it is. For example you can call someone out for, say, abandoning their pregnant lover (because, currently, that’s still a no-no), but when asked about why said lover consented to pre-marital sex while knowing the possible consequences, we are met with a “don’t judge”. Nobody seems to realise that if your moral standard is self-imposed and self-defined, then there is really no standard at all. Why should that guy live by your moral code? I’m not saying he was right – I’m asking who defines “right”. For me, I know what I believe, I know where I get it from, and I know this code of right and wrong does not change or waver with the times or culture – and really, isn’t that what morality should be about?

Leave a Reply

